Inherent Vice (2014) REVIEW

IV-03837“Strong performances, but overly long and a confusing narrative.”

SPOILER FREE After having great respect for Paul Thomas Anderson’s ‘Punch Drunk Love’ (the only film I can really stomach that stars Adam Sandler) and ‘There Will Be Blood’ – I was eager to see what ‘Inherent Vice’ was going to be like. I felt like the film was somewhat inspired by Terry Gilliam’s ‘Brazil’, in the way that it really takes you on the most bizarre ride, and afterwards you come out thinking “what was that all about?” You very much stay inside the head of ‘Doc’ played by Joaquin Phoenix and follow him on his journey. Throughout its 148 minute duration, I was unsure about whether the characters had been taken drugs, or whether it felt like I had been. With strong performances from Joaquin Phoenix, Owen Wilson, Josh Brolin and Benicio Tel Doro (in particular) I thought that it was going to be difficult for me to lose interest in the film’s jumbled storyline, however I found myself doing just that on several occasions.

I feel like you have to be the right sort-of person to enjoy ‘Inherent Vice’ much like Terry Gilliam’s ‘Brazil’ although ‘Brazil’ really swings further into the category of surrealism. I’ve always been someone to pass these projects to one-side as something that I’ve never really enjoyed, but never dismiss entirely, as I don’t think that would serve the project justice. The film feels like an ‘endurance test’ Kyle Smith, New York Post – and one that could leave audiences enthralled or frustrated. I’m somewhere in between – the film struck me as odd and rather confused, but still bizarrely intriguing. The conversations between characters, although difficult to follow were always interesting to watch and observe. As much as I can appreciate the work of art that it is, and for some a masterpiece – It didn’t struck me as a film that had particularly strong characters, or one that made it easy for the audience to fully engage with what was going on.

All the film’s performances are believable, and to some extent engaging – but it left we the ruthless question of “what does it all mean?” I felt a sense of emptiness as I left the screening, and as much as I think that when the film works – it works rather, it made me wonder what the point of it all was. For some, I can imagine ‘Inherent Vice’ will hit home – but for me, due to its overly long duration, lack of developed supporting characters and a narrative too difficult to follow, I found it a rather tedious experience. Although I’m willing to admit that I may have missed something here…

★★

Inherent Vice (2014) REVIEW

Leave a comment