Paddington (2014) REVIEW

Glimpse of Paddington the movie star“It’s smart, funny, surprisingly quirky and rather charming.”

SPOILER FREE It’s not at all surprising to see a film released that originally comes from a children’s television programme once again taking itself very seriously – but what was surprising was that this time… It kind of worked. It’s meant to be fun for all the family, jokes that parents can laugh at, ones for the children and then humour for everybody. It’s no spoiler to say that Paddington made me smile on a number of occasions. Who knows whether the film will do very well at the Box Office with its sellout cast and an adorable bear on the front cover – it’s British, and British films don’t always do well over in the USA.

I think Paddington does what it is trying to do very well. It’s no doubt that after it first being a story for kids in 1958; that it is trying to appeal to a different generation. My parents still have some of the books from the 1960’s and of course the TV show starting in 1975 which spoke to children in a very different way than it does today. Any family film has elements of peril and fright that are meant to involve its audience further into the characters, however this is quite a jump for Paddington. The film goes from children’s book to family film – and there, things have to change. The film gets off to rather a sad start which will be upsetting for any child – however, I found as an adult; there was little character development to really bring out an emotions. There are elements of Paddington that I believe appeal and touch people of all ages, but I don’t think that there is enough for adults. I think the film really struggles to develop the bear’s character. As much as we get to know his behaviour and all of the ways that he doesn’t know how to do things – we don’t really get to know him as well as I was hoping. Kids will love the fact that he’s a cute fluffy bear, but I felt that as an adult, this was rather empty on the inside.

Hugh Bonneville plays Mr. Brown fantastically, as does the rest of the cast playing their own characters. He’s a grumpy bugger that leans over to the side of realism rather than of heart and brilliantly relates to everybody’s hard side. Of course it’s your typical family tale! The mother; wonderfully acted by Sally Hawkins is very soft, emotional and giving – the daughter is a grumpy teenage girl that is embarrassed by her parents – the younger brother is into blowing things up but suppressed by his parents – the housekeeper played by Julie Walters is slightly nuts but very wise. It reminded me of the Weasley’s in Harry Potter – it’s very predictable and I feel; creeps into slightly boring, but it is charming nonetheless. The villain, charismatically played by Nicole Kidman is strong and will be frightful to the smallest of children. The thought of stuffing a talking bear is unpleasant but why can I hear the screaming voices of the animal rights party in my ear?.. Strange. Not every taxidermist is a bad and evil person, but I have a feeling that the film is trying to say something too big for its wellington boots; which, by the way, Paddington is never seen in as he is rather famously in all of the old stories and television programmes.

The bottom line is that I left the cinema with a smile on my face, but I can’t say that I was incredibly impressed – only by the performances which were wonderful. I’m so glad that Colin Firth didn’t do the voice of Paddington in the end because Ben Whishaw was terrific. It’s a brilliant cast and I’m sure the film will appeal to many. It’s smartly written, and at some points surprising quirky. Kids will love it and some parents will too. As far as kids films go – it will take you by surprise and there’s much here for everybody. My arguments are that there isn’t enough for parents, and even though some of the jokes are funny; some of it is too silly for us older people. I was hoping for quite a bit more, but although I wasn’t terribly impressed; nonetheless it’s quite a charmer.

★★★

Paddington (2014) REVIEW

Leave a comment